top of page

SHWL Feature Mums & Dads

One of the things we are most excited to pursue here in our little space is our ‘SHWL Feature Mums & Dads’. All the amazing Mums and Dads from the Instagram community and beyond that we have grown to adore and who inspire us in many ways. We first got this wonderful idea from a fellow Instagram Mum who interviewed us for her blog earlier this year. We really enjoy following this segment of her and love reading about all the wonderful Mums in her world. So, we are going to do the same here in our little space and share the love!

Our very first cab off the rank is a fellow Brisbane Mummy and Stylist who’s blog we love. Not only does she have an impressive, real, and loyal following, but her blog is jam packed with everything Mums love – interesting articles and interviews, product recommendations and reviews, fashion and all things babies and children. Her little space is modern, oh so stylish and as pretty as a picture! She also has the most adorable, blue eyed little side kick. We may or may not Insta-stalk her and have a little Mum crush on the lovely Ellen Robbins from The Stylist Mama.

Enjoy!

Abbey & Kylie

TELL US A LITTLE BIT ABOUT YOUR FAMILY

I am a first time mother to miss Sophie Ellen, and girlfriend to Dmitri, we are both hairdressers by trade- and classic cliche- met through work. He owns a salon in Brisbane City, and I am a working mama. I still do hair and makeup, and blog ALOT! We love to travel, and take Sophie everywhere. I grew up in Noosa, and love getting back to the coast!

YOU HAVE A GREAT FOLLOWING ON YOUR INSTAGRAM PAGE. WHEN DID IT ALL START AND WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE THING ABOUT SOCIAL MEDIA?

I started my blog and Instagram page because I just couldn't find anyone with a blog like it, since being home, I wanted to read about recipes, fashion, motherhood stories, lifestyle ideas and travelling tips. I love finding inspiring Instagram pages that are full of colour, individuality and don't rabbit on about the same old shit. I had a lot of friends saying I should start a blog because I used to tell them those ideas, and really that’s where it stemmed from. Fast forward 6 months, and the blog is booming and being read in Europe, USA and The Middle East, as well as home- Aus!

WHO ARE YOUR ROLE MODELS AS A MUM?

Totally, I really thought motherhood was different to how it is. Firstly my mum, because she has so much more patience then I do, and takes Sophie anytime I need a breather ( what a champ) and then there are my girlfriends. These are the ladies who give me advice daily and huge amounts of entertainment with their hilarious “new mum” stories. On the celeb front, I think any mum who can manage fame, work, kids, and still be sane- is worth applauding.

HOW DO YOU PRIORITISE TIME FOR YOURSELF AMONGST ALL YOUR RESPONSIBILITIES?

I make time, I think you have too. Whether its for an hour to go to the gym, or a few hours to do some work, its a juggle, but it’s fun. If I do need to take Sophie with me to an appointment or work- as long as there is food and games, she's fine. If it’s time for me, I make it happen. I usually make sure Dim is home and I hit the ground running. He is pretty flexible too so I can rely on him to help me out if I need him, otherwise his family are awesome help when we both get tied up!

WHAT DO YOU PREFER IN YOUR DAILY WARDROBE, COLOUR OR NEUTRALS?

NEUTRALS! Haha! I’m a colour freak in different aspects. My lipstick collection is ridiculous, but for fashion- especially now that I'm not working 9-5 my wardrobe is really light, fresh and wearable. I accessorise with heaps of scarves and hats, as well as makeup, but I always wear metallic shoes- that’s probably my “thing”.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE STYLE TREND, PAST OR PRESENT?

I love colour blocking. I love wearing all one colour, especially for events. It looks so good in photos, and the thrill of finding everything that matches is bliss (haha)

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOUR PERSONAL STYLE AND HOW HAS IT EVOLVED SINCE BECOMING A MUM?

My style has always been the same, and being a mama I tend to wear “my style” a lot more, because when I was working- I tended to wear lots of similar stuff because it was easier! I love fashion, and I love finding new labels and things that I will wear forever- I never buy things for one occasion, or one wear.

WHAT ARE YOUR THREE ‘MUST HAVE’ BEAUTY PRODUCTS THAT YOU CANT GO WITHOUT?

A good cleanser, my lipgloss collection, and my perfume. I have one signature scent that I now keep secret because everyone asks what it is, but its so special to me I don't want anyone else to wear it!! Is that bad? I have no idea, but I don't care haha!

WHAT WOULD BE YOUR TOP TIPS FOR LADIES WHO WOULD LIKE TO FRESHEN UP AND GIVE THEIR WARDROBES AN UPDATE?

Find a piece you like, then buy it in a colour you know will last longer then 2 months. Sunny Yellow might be Summer 2017’s colour, but if it comes in white- I’d be buying that. Also, sometimes freshening up your look might be as simple as soaking all your light pieces and rewashing them so they are super bright and fresh- ready for party season!

IT’S THE LAST SUPPER. IN ADDITION TO YOUR FAMILY YOU CAN INVITE THREE GUESTS. WHO MAKES THE CUT?

Oh gosh! This took me a while to think about, but I’d have to invite my best friend Chelsea- because she's always up for a laugh and she's my number one girl, Chrissy Teigan- can cook, also for the laughs, and she's a total babe mama, and lastly Seth Rogan, hilarious. (Can you see I’m all about the good times here?)


bottom of page